Skip to main content

AML 2600 African-American Literature - Freeman (Plant City): Library Research Assignment

Tips for Library Research Assignment

Tips for your Library Research Assignment:


Books are found by searching the LINCC Library Catalog.


Databases (also known as Online Reference Sources) that the library subscribes to include Acacemic Search Complete, Biography Resource Center, Oxford English Dictionary, Literature Resources from Gale


Literature Criticism, or critical articles about literature, can be found in Literature Resources from Gale, Literary Reference Center, Literature Criticism Online. These databases may also contain the full-text of poems and short stories, such as The Story of An Hour or The Raven.

 

Information that discusses Popular versus Scholarly Articles can be found at Weber State University's Library Page.

 

 

More Tips for Library Research Assignment

Tips for your Library Research Assignment. This assignment is intended to allow you to get acquainted with some of the library resources that you should be using for completing other assignments in this class. Below you will find a detailed explaination of which sources you could use to answer each question, as well as example searches and answers.

 

1. Locate and cite one single-author book on the subject of networking.

To find a book about a particular subject, you will need to search the library catalog.

*To locate a book about the first ladies, type in the search words first ladies in the search box. You will get results that are all types of materials, books, eBooks, DVDs, and more. To view only the books, click on 'Book' in the orange bar on the left side of the page.

*To cite a book source with one author, use the following MLA Format:

  Author. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Publication Medium.

  Caroli, Betty Boyd. First Ladies. New York: Oxford, 2010. Print.

 

2. Accessing the Online Reference Resources, use the OED to locate a definition...

The OED is available from the library as a database. You can access the full list of library subscribed databases from the library home page or by clicking on OED anywhere in this guide.

*To look up the definition of your word, go to the OED (it may prompt you to log in with your student ID number and pin [last four digits of your student ID number]), type in your word in the search box. Your results list should appear. Click on "Full Entry" to look at the complete entry for your word. At the bottom of the entry will be a sample citation (though the citation may not be in proper MLA format).

 

3. Use the Biography Resource Center to locate a biography on...

The Biography Resource Center is another database that the library subscribes to. It has changed names and is now called Biography in Context.

*To look up your biographical information, go to Biography in Context (it may prompt you to log in with your student ID number and pin [last four digits of your student ID number]), type the name of the person you are researching in the search box. Your results list should appear.  *If there are multiple people with the same name, look at the occupation and/or birth and death dates to pick the right one.

Click on the person's name to see all of the biographical articles about them. Click on any of the article titles to look at the full title. At the bottom of each article is a sample citation (though the citation may not be in proper MLA format).

 

4. Using the online library databases, locate a critical article addressing the literary works of a person...

If you go to the LINCCWEB page, you can access all of the resources available at the library. Click on "Search a Specific Database", then click on "Literature". This will allow you to see all of the databases that have literary specific information. Literature Resources from Gale and Literary Reference Center are two good ones to start with.

*To look up your article, go to the database, type in your author's name in the search box and click on search. On the results screen, click on table labeled "Literature Criticism" to locate critical articles.

 

5. Locate the quote about Popular versus Scholarly Articles at Weber State University's Library Page.

 

6. Using the online library databases, locate an article...

Review the suggestion for question #4.

7. Using the online library databases, locate an article...

Review the suggestion for question #4.

8. Search the World Wide Web (WWW) to locate the American Memory project at the Library of Congress. Cite any film or collection from the site.

Use your preferred search engine, such as Google, to locate this answer.


9. Locate and list five bibliographic entries for scholarly sources...

Use a combination of book and article sources. Any of the above resources could be utilized, ie library catalog, databases, Library of Congress resources.

10. Locate and cite a periodical article from a scholarly source...

Review the suggestion for question #4.

11. Provide a citation for a book with more than one author.

Review the suggestion for question #1.

12. Provide a citation for an anthology of American Literature with an editor.

Review the suggestion for question #1.

13. Using either an online or hardcopy source, locate and excerpt...

Review the suggestion for question #1 to locate a hardcopy or eBook version of the text

OR

Review the suggestion for question #4 to locate an online version of the poem in a database.