Skip to main content

ENC 1102 Niedbalec: Finding Information for Your Research Paper

This guide contains information on library resources for the literature topics and research papers requires for this course.

Utilizing Library Databases

How do I find a magazine, journal or newspaper article?

In order to locate magazine, journal or newspaper articles you will need to search one of the library databases. The databases are arranged in two different ways:

Databases in Alphabetical Order by Name:  Choose this if you know the name of the database you would like to use.  For example purposes:  Choose Academic OneFile. This is the database discussed during library orientation.

  1. Type in a search term under the Advance Search section.  Notice the drop down search assist box.  If you click on a 2 or 3 word phrase in this drop down menu, quotation marks are placed around the words making the phrase your search term.
  2. Click Full Text and then click Search.
  3. Narrow Search Parameters by utilizing the Format, Publication Date, Subject, Document Type, etc. options in the right column. 

Databases Grouped Together by Subject Area: Choose this if you know what subject you would like to research. You will see a list of broad subject areas. When you click on one, you will see the databases recommended for that subject.

How do I find journal articles for my research paper?

A good place to begin your research for journal articles is in one of the library's general databases. The general databases have full-text articles on thousands of different topics. Click on one of the links below to get started.

Academic OneFile

Academic Search Complete

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition

I need more specific information to my topic. Are there any speciality databases to use?

The library website has links to over 100 different databases and more are added all the time. Some, like the ones above, are good for searching for information on just about any topic. Others are specifically designed to be used to search for information on a certain subject area such as medicine, business, education, computers, science, etc.

Primarily when conducting research for the research paper for this class, start by using the following parameters:

      Full Text

      Academic Journals (Scholarly)   

      Articles

 

Databases to Use for Your Research Paper

If you would like to see all the databases grouped together by subject click the link below:

Databases by Subject 

 

To get you started here are a few subject specific databses to try:

Applied Science and Technology 

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus  

Business Full Text 

Computer Database 

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index 

Education Full Text 

Health and Wellness Resource Center 

History Reference Center 

Legal Periodical & Books 

MEDLINE with Full Text 

Military and Intelligence Database

PsycARTICLES

Social Sciences Full Text 

 

Pro/Con databases 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 

The links above are just a sampling of some of the databases available on the library's website. If you are researching a topic and do not see a database for your subject, or if need help searching the databses please contact the library.

 When I click on the links above it asks me for a borrower ID and password? What do I use?

Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. If that does not work, try the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number. If you still cannot get into the databases, please contact the library and we will try to assist you.

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine's picture
Karen Dufraine
Contact:
1206 N. Park Rd
Plant City, FL
813-757-2121
Subjects:Reference