Skip to main content

ENC 1102 Niedbalec: Finding Literature Information

This guide contains information on library resources for the literature topics and research papers requires for this course.

Literary Criticism

How do I find literature information?

As discussed in the orientation, three areas of concentration should be part of your research: Writing about Literature, Literary Criticism and Literary Analysis. The Plant City campus library has access to the circulating titles shown in the Book and eBook Section of this Guide to assist in this assignment  

Circulating Books and eBooks

The book titles listed below are available for check-out through the Plant City Campus library...all you need is your HawkCard Student ID number.  For the books titles with eBook listed as the Call Number, to access the book click on the title.

Using the Library Databases

Literature Criticism Reference Books 

In order to locate information such as literary criticism, work summaries, or biographical information on authors you will need to utilize one of the literary criticism books listed below or search one of the library databases.

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism is available both in print and online.  The print version is the "big brown book" discussed in the orientation and can be found on the book shelves next to the student computers.  To access the online version see instructions in the Finding Books page of this LibGuide.

Literature Criticism Databases

We looked at four literature databases in the library orientation. If you would like to use the databases click either of the links below:

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literature Criticisms Online

Artemis Literary Sources

Books and Authors

 

When I click on the links above it asks me for a borrower ID and password? What do I use?

Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. If that does not work, try the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number. If you still cannot get into the databases, please contact the library and we will try to assist you.

FYI - if you access your courses using Canvas you no longer have to sign into the databases using your student ID.  Utilizing the HCC Libraries Online tab in Canvas automatically signs you into the electronic databases.

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine's picture
Karen Dufraine
Contact:
1206 N. Park Rd
Plant City, FL
813-757-2121
Subjects:Reference

Finding Literary Criticism