Skip to main content

ENC 1102 Niedbalec: Finding Books

This guide contains information on library resources for the literature topics and research papers requires for this course.

Library Catalog Search

How do I find books at the library?

To find books at the library you will need to search the library catalog. Click the link below to search the catalog.

Library Catalog.  Once you have the catalog open, follow some simple steps to locate books (print and eBook) that are in our library.

  1. Click on Advanced Search.
  2. Type in your keyword, for example, freedom.  For Material Type, open the pull down menu and choose: Items in Library.  For the Within pull down option, make sure Plant City is displayed.
  3. Click Search.
  4. To Narrow your Search Results, review the options in the left column under "Refine My Results".  Format, Subject: Topic and Publication Date are good areas to help refine your search parameters.

Once you have narrowed your search parameters, here are some suggestions in reviewing the books listed:

  • Click on the book title or the Details tab.
  • Read the Notes to better understand what this book title covers.
  • Creation Date: explains the publication date.
  • Call Number - GV436 .F53:  How to locate printed books in the book stacks.  Look at the end of each row for the first two letters of the Call Number and then scan the shelves for the full call number to locate each book. 

Can I read the books online or do I need to come to the library?

We love to see students in the library, but we understand that it is not always possible for them to come into the library. When you search the catalog you will find results for regular, paper bound books that are located in the library for check-out purposes. You will also find results for our eBook collection. This is a collection of several thousand books that are available to you full-text from any computer that has Internet access.  However, in order to access the eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries. 

To view an eBook accessed through the HCC Library's Online Catalog, follow the steps below: 

  1. After your search results have been populated in the Catalog, click on eBook under the Format section under "Refine My Results".
  2. Click on the Book title to open.  A new website page should open up to EBSCO Host. You'll see the book Title, Author, Publisher and Table of Contents listed.
  3. Click on any of the sections under Table of Contents to open book pages.
  4. The column to the right allows you to make notes, email, print and check the citation.

Does the library have anything else besides books? 

In addition to books, the library also has a nice collection of DVDs, Blu-Rays and audio books. You will find these by searching the catalog.

 

Logging into HCC Libraries

 Two ways to Log Into HCC Libraries

Log into Canvas, select a Course you are registered for and look at the left side column.  You should see the following list:

Click on HCC Libraries Online.  Canvas opens to the following page:

Click on Launch Hillsborough Community College which will bring you to the online catalog screen.  By logging into Canvas you are automatically logged into the HCC Library's website.

The second option to log into the Library's databases and access eBooks is to open hccfl.edu. Click on Library in the top Header under the HCC logo.

 

On the Home page for HCC Libraries, click on  "Log-in first for best results!".  You will be prompted to enter your Borrower ID and PIN/Password.

Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. If that does not work, try the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number. If you still cannot get into the databases, please contact the library and we will try to assist you.

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine's picture
Karen Dufraine
Contact:
1206 N. Park Rd
Plant City, FL
813-757-2121
Subjects:Reference

Library Tips Handout

The PDF file below, "Welcome to the Library - ENC 1102 Handout" is an electronic copy of the Library Orientation sheet provided at the class instruction.