CJE 2170 - Internat'l Policing and Transnat'l Crime - Criminal Justice (Ybor City) - LibGuides at Hillsborough Community College

Crime and Punishment Around the World

Crime and Punishment Around the World

This eBook (online version of a physical book) is about criminal justice systems around the world. Log-In Required.

After you log in...Scroll down the Contents to find the continent where your country is located. The continents are:

Africa ... Middle East & North Africa ... The Americas ... Asia ... Europe.

Within the continent, each country chapter includes citation information and links to further reading.

Online Article Databases

In addition to the eBook on the left, articles from "periodicals" - newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals - may provide current information focused on specific issues related to your topic. The online databases below allow you to find articles by keyword...and to target peer-reviewed or scholarly journals .

Click the links below and enter your Borrower ID Card Number and PIN.

Use keywords or phrases - i.e. just a few words, not whole sentences.

Click the next to a link for more tips.

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
Articles from trade and scholarly journals in criminal justice and related fields.
- Click "Full text" and "Peer reviewed"
- Type in your keywords
- Use the name of your country and criminal justice
---- Examples: Jordan criminal justice - or - words specific to that country, e.g. Jordan criminal Islamic law - The list of articles is sorted by *relevance* - you can sort by *date* instead to get the newest ones first.
- More keywords = more precise/narrow results
- On the list of articles, you can try one of the "Suggested Subjects" at the top
--- If so...click "Full text" and "Peer reviewed" before you search, to remove any items that are not complete articles.
- For the citation...on the article screen, click "Cite"
- It defaults to "APA-6th Edition" - this is what you want.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals across all subjects.
Try your keywords in the blank boxes.
- Limit results to "documents with full text" and "peer-reviewed" before clicking search.
- Use the same keywords as in the database above. When you have selected your article, click the title, then "Citation Tools".
Your article may be in HTML or PDF format (or both). If PDF, you must click the "PDF" link to get the complete article.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals across all subjects.
-Limit your results to "Full Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" before you search.
- Use the same keywords as in the databases above. When you have selected your article, click the title, then cite on the right column.
Your article may be in HTML or PDF format (or both). If PDF, you must click the "PDF" link to get the complete article.

Advanced Google Searching Comparative Criminal Justice Topics

Refer to the Advanced Google tab at the top. Try the following keywords in both Google Web Search and Google Scholar Search:

Sample Keywords

Authoritative Web Sites

The web sites linked below are maintained by US government agencies.

They provide background information about countries of the world.

Not every country is covered in every site.

Click the next to a link for tips on finding your country's criminal justice system information in that site.

CIA World Factbook
Info on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Country Studies (Library of Congress)

Criminal Justice (Ybor City): CJE 2170 - Internat'l Policing and Transnat'l Crime

Crime and Punishment Around the World

Online Article Databases

Advanced Google Searching Comparative Criminal Justice Topics

Authoritative Web Sites