From this results list, you can see that the library has books, ebooks, videos, and evideos available for your use. Click on "View Online" to look at the e-materials or write down the call number to locate an item that is physically in the library.
To find magazine, journal, and book articles about Barn Burning, search in the databases below.
Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas. If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries.
Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically, you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about the particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography In Context database.
Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about William Faulkner and "Barn Burning".
At the Advanced Search screen enter "barn burning" in the "Name of Work" box and "faulkner" in the "person-by or about" box.
Click on the check box that will limit to "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally click on "Search" and a list of articles will appear.
The list of results will show under the Content Types section as seen below. Click on Literature Criticism to see the articles available that critically examine the work.
Selected books and eBooks about William Faulkner. To access eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.
Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about William Faulkner and his writings. Some information will overlap with that in the Artemis Literary Sources
Enter the title "barn burning" and the author "faulkner" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field".
Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.
Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about William Faulkner and his writings that appear in large collections of literary criticism.
*This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.
To locate articles/chapters in this database, type Barn Burning in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.
From the results page, you can either choose from Content Type or Publication Title to see all of the literary criticisms for this particular piece work.