Skip to main content

AML 2020 - Freeman (Plant City): Winesburg, Ohio

This guide is intended to direct students to resources that assist with assignments in AML 2020 with Dr. Freeman at the Plant City Campus

Books and Ebooks

Use the Library Catalog available on the Library's Webpage  to locate books and ebooks in the HCC Plant City Library. 

The Library Databases allow you to find articles, videos, and many other types of resources that might be useful for completing your research.  From the library home page or catalog page, click on Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.  You must be logged into HCC Libraries Online in order to access the library databases.

 Example Search:

 

To locate items in the library that are by or about Kate Chopin, simply type her name in the search box of the library catalog, click and select "items in library" from the drop-down menu, and click search.

From this results list, you can see that the library has books, ebooks, videos, and evideos available for your use. Click on "View Online" to look at the e-materials or write down the call number to locate an item that is physically in the library.

Library Databases

To find magazine, journal, and book articles about Winesburg, Ohiosearch in the databases below.

Databases are used to search for and locate articles for the research process. Please see the Logging Into HCC Libraries for instructions on how to access the library databases through Canvas.  If this does not work, please contact one of the HCC libraries. 

Each of the databases has a different "look" but they all search in similar ways. Typically, you will enter both the author's name and the title of the story to find articles that are about the particular story. If instead, you are only looking for biographical information about the author, you can use the Biography In Context database.

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)

Gale Literary Sources

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Sherwood Anderson and Winesburg, Ohio.

At the Advanced Search screen enter "winesburg ohio" in the "Name of Work" box and "anderson" in the "person-by or about" box.

Click on the check box that will limit "full text." This will ensure that the results are able to be read online immediately. Finally click on "Search" and a list of articles will appear.

 

The list of results will show under the Content Types section as seen below. Click on Literature Criticism to see the articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title or the link(s) labeled "Full-text". 

Books about Anderson

Selected books and ebooks about Sherwood Anderson. To access eBooks, you must be logged into HCC Libraries Online.   

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)

Literary Reference Center 

Allows you to search for magazine, journal and book articles about Sherwood Anderson and his writings.  Some information will overlap with that in Artemis Literary Resources (Gale).

Enter the title "winesburg ohio" and the author "anderson" in the search boxes, leave the drop-down menus set to "select a field". Click on Full-Text, and then click on Search.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Literature Criticism Online

Allows you to search for essays and biographical information about Sherwood Anderson that appear in large collections of literary criticism.

 *This database contains the full copies of several sets of literary criticism series and is quite a bit different than the other databases.

To locate articles/chapters in this database, type Winesburg, Ohio in the Keyword search box. Check "full text" under more options and click Search.

The list of results will show under the Content Types section as seen below. Click on Literature Criticism to see the articles available that critically examine the work. To read an article in the list of results, click on the title or the link(s) labeled "Full-text".