In order to locate magazine, journal or newspaper articles you will need to search one of the library databases. The databases are arranged in two different ways:
Choose this if you know the name of the database you would like to use. For example purposes: Choose Academic OneFile. This is the database discussed during many library orientations.
HINT: To start with until you become more familiar with electronic databases, use databases that have (Gale) or EBSCO after the database name - very user-friendly.
Choose this if you know what subject you would like to research. You will see a list of broad subject areas. When you click on one, you will see the databases recommended for that subject.
For this example, click on Biography > Biography in Context (Gale).
Type S.E. Hinton in the Search box and click the magnifying glass to search.
Click on …View More to see the complete general biography.
The front results page for this database provides multiple resource documentation choices.
See the box below for the best databases to start with when searching for magazine, newspaper and journal articles:
What is the borrower ID and password?
Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. Please see the "Start Here" page for more log-in instructions. If you are experiencing problems logging into the databases, please contact the library and we will do our best to assist you.
Search for scholarly literature across many subject areas and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
If you're off-campus, Set up Google Scholar on your computer to allow access to HCC Libraries resources.
The PDF file below, "Welcome to the Library - ENC 1101 Handout" is an electronic copy of the Library Orientation sheet provided at ENC class library orientations/instructions.