Skip to main content

ENC 1101 - Niedbalec: Finding Journal & Magazine Articles

Designed to aid students in finding library resources such as books, articles and websites.

Library Database Access and Use

How do I find a magazine, journal or newspaper article?

In order to locate magazine, journal or newspaper articles you will need to search one of the library databases. The databases are arranged in two different ways:

Databases in Alphabetical Order by Name:  Choose this if you know the name of the database you would like to use.  For example purposes:  Choose Academic OneFile. This is the database discussed during library orientation. 

HINT:  To start with until you become more familiar with electronic databases, use databases that have (Gale) after the database name: very user-friendly.

  1. Type in a search term under the Advance Search section.  Notice the drop down search assist box.  If you click on a 2 or 3 word phrase in this drop down menu, quotation marks are placed around the words making the phrase your search term.
  2. Click Full Text and then click Search.
  3.  Narrow Search Parameters by utilizing the Format, Publication Date, Subject, Document Type, etc. options in the right column. 

Databases Grouped Together by Subject Area: Choose this if you know what subject you would like to research. You will see a list of broad subject areas. When you click on one, you will see the databases recommended for that subject.

For this example, click on Biography > Biography in Context (Gale). 

  1. Type S.E. Hinton in the Search box and click the magnifying glass to search.

  2. Click on …View More to see the complete general biography.

The front results page for this database provides multiple resource documentation choices. 

What is the borrower ID and password?

Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. If that does not work, try the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number. If you still cannot get into the databases, please contact the library and we will try to assist you.

Good databases to use when searching for magazine, newspaper and journal articles:

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine's picture
Karen Dufraine
Contact:
1206 N. Park Rd
Plant City, FL
813-757-2121
Subjects:Reference

Library Tips Handout

The PDF file below, "Welcome to the Library - ENC 1101 Handout" is an electronic copy of the Library Orientation sheet provided at the class instruction.