Skip to main content

ENC 1101 - Freeman (Plant City): Literature Criticism Resources

Literature Criticism

Literature Criticism Resources

When you need to find out what experts think about a literature work, you will look for literature (or literary) criticism.  Criticism can be found as books, articles in journals, articles in books, and more.  In the boxes below you will find instructions for locating criticism in these sources. 

Books and eBooks

Click here to search for books (printed and eBook) in the LINCC Library Catalog.  

When searching the catalog, it is generally a good idea to begin searching with broad terms.  If I were looking for information about Shakespeare's Hamlet -- I would start my search with just those two words.  If you get too many results, the search can be narrowed by adding additional search words or by searching by Title or Author rather than Keyword.

Below are some general books on criticism to begin with.

Databases -- Available Online

When looking in journal or magazine articles for literature criticism - it is best to start in a Database.  The library subscribes to several databases that will be helpful to find Literature Criticism sources that your instructor approves. Two of the most common publications used for literature criticism are now available as electronic resources through the HCC Libraries Databases.

  1. Contemporary Literary Criticism
    1. Provides literary criticism from newspapers, books, magazines, journals, scholarly reviews and more on authors that are currently writing or died after December 31, 1959.
  2. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
    1. Similar to the Contemporary Literary Criticism - contains articles from books, magazines, journals, newspapers and more about authors living from 1900-1959.

To locate literary criticism in these two publications, use the following databases:

  • Artemis Literary Sources
  • Literary Criticism Online

You will need to log into the databases either through the HCC Libraries Online link in your course in Canvas or by entering your Student ID information.  See the Logging into HCC Libraries page for more log-in instructions.

If you have trouble logging into the databases, please contact us directly.

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine's picture
Karen Dufraine
Contact:
1206 N. Park Rd
Plant City, FL
813-757-2121
Subjects:Reference

Tip Sheets

Tipsheets for using the databases suggested in this guide.