Skip to main content

Veterinary Technology (Plant City): Online Databases (searching for articles)

Guide to Library and Online Resources available for Veterinary Technology Students @ HCC

Library Database Access and Use

How do I find a magazine, journal or newspaper article?

In order to locate magazine, journal or newspaper articles you will need to search one of the library databases. The databases are arranged in two different ways:

Databases in Alphabetical Order by Name: 

Choose this if you know the name of the database you would like to use.  For example purposes:  Choose Academic OneFile. This is the database discussed during many library orientations. 

HINT:  To start with until you become more familiar with electronic databases, use databases that have (Gale) or EBSCO after the database name - very user-friendly.

  1. Type in a search term under the Advanced Search section.  Notice the drop down search assist box.  If you click on a 2 or 3 word phrase in this drop down menu, quotation marks are placed around the words making the phrase your search term.
  2. Check Full Text and then Search.
  3.  After your results populate, narrow Search Parameters by utilizing the Format, Publication Date, Subject, Document Type, etc. options in the right or left column. 

Databases Grouped Together by Subject Area:

Choose this if you know what subject you would like to research. You will see a list of broad subject areas. When you click on one, you will see the databases recommended for that subject.

For this example, click on Health and Medicine > CINAHL Complete (EBSCO). 

  1. Type "animal diseases" in the Search box and click the magnifying glass to search.

  2. HINT:  make sure to check Full Text.

Refine search results by using the left column:  Publication Date; Source types; Subject, etc.

See the box to the right for the best databases to start with when searching for magazine, newspaper and journal articles:

What is the borrower ID and password?

Your borrower ID is your 7-digit student ID number. The password should be the last 4 digits of your student ID number. Please see the "Logging into HCC Libraries" page for more log-in instructions.  If you are experiencing problems logging into the databases, please contact the library and we will do our best to assist you.

General Databases

General Databases 

Each of these databases includes information from magazines, journals, and books on all topics.  It is usually best to start your search in one of these more general databases.

A complete list of the databases available through HCC Libraries is available at: https://www.linccweb.org/index.asp?lib_code=flcc1100&screen=Alpha.

Subscription Databases

 

Specialized Databases 

Each of these databases includes information from magazines, journals, and newspaper articles on specialized topics within the field of Veterinary Science.  These databases allow you to narrow your search by format, publication date, publication name, and subject/topic. 

 

   

Subject Guide

Karen Dufraine's picture
Karen Dufraine
Contact:
1206 N. Park Rd
Plant City, FL
813-757-2121
Subjects:Reference