Skip to main content

ENC 1101 - Mita (Brandon): Home

Guide to assist students in ENC 1101 with Laura Mita

How to access the library via Canvas

The HCC Brandon Campus Library has a variety of resources and tools available to help you to complete your research paper. 

Video Tour of Library Resources:

Check out this quick video (3:54) that will guide you through the library resources that are most useful for your research in this class. 

Frequently asked questions about research for this assignment:

How do I find information about my topic using the library resources? 

  • All library resources can be found by going to the HCC Libraries Online - click on the link in the left navigation area of this course

MyHCC Library Online Launch HCC Library

To find books - or other items in the library - type in several keywords related to your topic (e.g. technology reading, video games, technology imagination) in the search box

Library Search Screen

When your results appear, you can limit them to books at the Brandon Campus. To do this, click on the check box for Books in the library, then click on the link for Library/Collection: Hillsborough/Brandon.

Book search in library catalog results

 

To find articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals access the Library Databases

Library Databases link on Library Catalog


Select the General Databases, specifically Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete, to locate current articles about your topic

Database finder - general databases


Select the Pro/Con Databases, specifically Opposing Viewpoints in Context, to locate information that examines your topic and might highlight the negative or positive aspects of the topic

Database Finder - Databases by Subject

How do I cite my sources? 

Each of the library tools typically will create MLA style citations for you. Each tool is a bit different - look for "Cite", "Citation Tools", "Format Citation", and "Citation Examples".

If that doesn't help - check out the library's MLA Citation Help Page

 

Still not finding what you're looking for? 

Contact your campus librarian, Kristin Heathcock! She can be reached by using the Inbox tool in MyHCC or by regular email, telephone, or in the library. 

Librarian

Kristin Heathcock's picture
Kristin Heathcock
Contact:
Brandon Campus Library
10451 Nancy Watkins Dr.
Tampa, FL 33619
813.253.7812
Website Skype Contact: kheathcock@hccfl.edu